RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-12-2009, 08:21 AM   #1
chocostashchick
Callie

I am currently:
Triggering (SI/ED) - have come back after forever because i exploded my world. oops. (also trig SUI/OD)

i stopped coming on here like a year and a half ago because this is the safe talking about problems place and i was having serious problems with the facing and talking problems thing, hence avoiding the place where that happens. That might have been a mistake, because things really only got worse, yeah. Oops.

i never had therapy or counselling, despite my issues starting at like 13 (i'm 25), until 3 years ago. i graduated uni, got my first full-time job, and realised that my plan of just acting normal and having a normal life eventually leading to my mental health becoming normal was total crap. Anyway, went to first therapist ever when i was 22 and she told me that she had a magical backpack in the corner of her room where i would unload my problems and not have to carry them on my own anymore because she would hold them there for me until i came back. i chose not to come back because clearly she was under the disillusion that i was 5. She also asked me if i had a history of trauma, and even though i said no and have never been abused, gave me the title of a book to look at before i came back for my 2nd appt with her, but the book ended up being an anthology of case studies ABOUT FEMALE TRAUMA SURVIVORS. I never went back. After about 6 months I went to see another therapist, had like 8 appts with my 2nd therapist before I realised she was in over her head with me. She referred to SI as "just a habit, so just stop doing it,” didn't know what a "trigger" was and told me at my 3rd appt with her to just throw away my tools. i finally stopped seeing her when she decided to compromise on the stopping cold turkey and told me to only purge/SI once a day. That week i lost almost 10 pounds and gave myself the worst cuts and burns i ever have before i real