RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply

Old 17-09-2009, 02:54 PM   #1
Lindsey

Work "special treatment".

In December last year I lost my job due to redundancy. It's just part time like while im a student and stuff.

So I said to my cousin's husband who runs a nightclub that I needed something, could he help? And he gave me 2 shifts at the club. He's like, my boss's boss, he's pretty much the head of the whole club and it's a MASSIVE club. So he's really really important.

He basically said to my manager one day, give her a staff tshirt and show her the bar. With everyone else they have to do lengthy application forms and go to an interview, but I had none of that, I was just straight in.

So I've been there 10 months now. And I went on holiday in April and then needed time off for festivals and stuff. My boss is always really good about giving me time off. But I've heard other people complain that she can be a bit of a b*tch and be really funny with some peoples days off.

Last night I was talking to a guy and he said he's nervous about asking for some time off in a few weeks and I said it'll be fine and he was like "yeah, for you, because of *my cousins name*". Well, cousins husband but they married when I was really young so he's always been around. We're not that close but we do get on.

See, I didnt think anyone knew he was my cousin except for my boss. I asked this guy how he knew and he was like "oh everyone was talking about it the other day" and then he saw my face and was like "but i dont remember who" and he wouldnt tell me or say what they were saying.

I'm now totally paranoid that I don't deserve to be there. I had no bar experience when I started and they would not have taken me on if my cousin hadn't told them to. I'm scared if I do things wrong my boss won't tell me, or if she thinks im taking the p*ss over days off because im related to HER boss.