RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Closed Thread

Old 16-04-2019, 07:43 PM   #1
confused76

I am currently:
43 Wrong Career?

Okay so I've been doing the same job pretty much for 19 years. I've worked at three different companies doing almost the same thing. I've been a graphic/web designer most of my adult life. I'm 43 now and I recently got laid off by my company of 8 years because I went to IT and left Graphic Design. I do also dab into IT from time to time but I sort of dislike it. I'm not much for customer service, I'm an Introvert so its been difficult and at my last company I asked after 6 months go back to Design and they laid me off for asking to move around too much.

I get it, I mean it shows my confusion. My bosses basically told me I have no passion for Graphic Design or IT because I had asked to move around during my time at the company. I sat in my exit meeting being told that i have no passion or love for work. I refuse to be happy when they offer me the world.

I left Web Design at that company because we had a new boss and I felt that was I was over looked for the position so I asked to move IT where I thought I'd do better and progress. I ended up in the same cycle I always do confused and stressed.

I'm starting to think just maybe its the field I've chosen. I've never finished college I have 53 credits and had this desire to become a History teacher for a long time but math always pushed me back and I never finished it. I've always been good with computers and graphic design its easy to me. It's not that I struggle trying to create stuff, I just find it boring from time to time. This is always the cycle, I make it about 6 to 7 years then I find myself wishing and dreaming for something more. Something I actually cared about.