RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply

Old 19-01-2014, 11:19 AM   #1
AdviceFrom28

Please Read: Advice from 28

In high school, I was a straight A student, did extracurriculars, had good friends, had a good family, and I was a secret self-cutter, because I hated me. No one has been in your situation, and there are lots of different theories on reasoning why people cut, but each one of us can help by letting others know that we get what you’re going through.

What finally got me to stop cutting was one night when I lost control and made more cuts than I realized. I felt at that time that self-injury was controlling me, and that terrified me, because it meant I could make a mistake and someone would find out my secret.

I’m not saying my choices were the right decisions, or that they are the right decisions for you, but they were decisions I made none the less, and I want you to hear them. I relapsed a few times- Or other times I punched my left arm repeatedly, dug my fingernails into the underside of my arm, or pushed on my eyelids instead of cutting, but ya know what, that didn’t leave scars. I want you to know how much I hate my scars. How much I have dreaded explaining them to each new boyfriend and how much I used to fear having to dodge questions when I wear a strapless dress.