RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply

Old 26-10-2011, 09:14 PM   #1
tsukixkumori

I am currently:
Guys, I don't know what's wrong with me...

I used to cut back when I was like 14, just to "fit in" because all my friends were doing it. That was 5 years ago.

Now I'm a sophomore in college, and I've been tempted to cut again. In fact, I've done it a couple times.

I'm 19. I should be past this.

As to why I actually cut, I'm not sure. I was feeling sad, sure, but other times I just felt like it. Also, I'm sort of ashamed to admit it, but I like the way the marks look on my arms. It's sick, isn't it?

How can I make myself see that I'm totally wrong in doing this? Why do I ... enjoy these marks? Am I crazy? I hate this. I know it's wrong - I've been told over and over as much. But the temptation's still there.

I'm 19. I should be past this!

tsukixkumori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2011, 12:51 AM   #2
Mer

I am currently:

No matter what your reason for starting, cutting is an addiction and the more you do it, the more you want it and need it. Maybe when you were younger and doing it because others were, you started to rely on it and didn't realize it.

As to being 19 and past it, I don't think there is a time where anywone is really past it. It's always something you think about. I'm 23, and started when I was 19. I've often felt bad about being older, like I shouldn't have to resort to this. But I know that it's not really about age, just about how we deal with things. And temptation will always be there, its learning to deal with that temptation that is important.

You can't really "make yourself" see things as wrong. It just is what it is. And you're not crazy. If you really want to stop, try making a list of reasons for stopping, or reasons not to do it. Have you tried talking to anyone about it? Friends or family members?