RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply

Old 19-06-2022, 06:11 PM   #1
Elmer
Patchwork Elephant

I am currently:
Does it get better?

This is the third time I've tried starting a thread. Let's see.

I don't know how to explain without going into a very boring, rambling, in depth analysis of the last three years. I will try to keep it concise.

Basically, I've been working in therapy for nearly two years to get myself together and begin pursuing a meaningful life. Life appears to have other plans. Is this just how life is for everyone? Every time I take a step forwards it feels like something enormous and earth shattering happens. Family deaths and injuries, estrangements, harassment, seriously ill pets, physical health issues. It never ends. Maybe I'm only looking at the negatives, but it feels like every good thing that happens, I am only able to do or make happen after intensive therapeutic work, or huge academic effort. On the other hand, the shit just rains down at random, frequent intervals.

I guess what I'm asking is - is this it? Is it likely to get better? How do I go about making it better? Please can I have a break?

Yes, that was self indulgent. No, I don't care. My cat's in vet hospital and my world feels like it's ending again.

'It's an impossible choice ... I'll just have to hope that when I flip the coin it somehow explodes and kills me.'

"You're not scared of climbing mountains. You're scared that you can't make them move."

Jenna was here :P

Elmer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2022, 09:28 PM   #2
Pi.R^2
Pathologically flamboyant

I am currently:

<3

I think sporadic shit-rain is a common feature of life in general but I do admit that you seem to get the worst luck with it and that is so unfair considering how much you already deal with and how hard you've worked.