Live Help

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply
Old 20-02-2015, 12:23 AM   #1
Aubergine
You've got this.

I am currently:
Running for beginners!

Any runners out there? More specifically, any runners who went from doing no exercise other than gentle walking, to running a half marathon? I have seven months in which to train. Is this possible? How do I go about it? I am a complete novice. I will be seeking advice from a personal trainer at the gym I've just joined, but need some solid information on road running, as I understand it's very different from the treadmill.

Any information very, very welcome. I'm going into this blind.

“Our defeats are softened and our victories are sweetened because we did it together.” - Toby Ziegler.

This isn't everything you are.

Aubergine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2015, 12:30 AM   #2
Serendipity.
fabulous.

Me! I did a half marathon last year, which I signed up for in a rare fit of positivity and then totally regretted :P It was actually good though, and seven months is plenty of time to train. You don't need to be running it in a super amazing time, you don't even need to run the whole thing.

I would suggest that you find a training plan and stick to it as much as possible. I did mine at the Edinburgh Marathon Festival so I used their beginners' half marathon plan and it was fine (though I didn't stick to it as well as I should have :P) I'm now using their back to running 8 week plan so I can do another half! There are plenty out there, just make sure you pick one from a reputable source, and getting input from a personal trainer is definitely a good plan.

Umm. If you have any specific questions I will attempt to answer them!

"I know you're sad, so I won't tell you to have a good day. Instead, I advise you to simply have a day.
Stay alive, feed yourself well, wear comfortable clothes, and don't give up on yourself just yet.
It'll get better. Until then, have a day."

Serendipity. is offline   Reply With Quote