RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply
Old 04-01-2019, 08:28 AM   #1
trixiebug

I am currently:
How to get justice/closure

Firstly, NO, I don't mean vigilante justice or illegal activities. I am a small business owner and could never be associated with anything illegal because I would lose my license.

I'm looking for ways to help my daughters, 16 and 20 years old now, feel like justice has been served to their sexually abusive grandfather. He was found guilty and only served 5 months in prison for the years of abuse he inflicted on my girls. No one would tell me why he was released so early due to privacy laws, so we have no idea.

He's living his life as usual now, free to come and go as he pleases. His only permanent repercussion is that he has to register as a sex offender. But my girls have a life sentence of dealing with the aftermath of the abuse. They've been in therapy, on and off, for several years.

I approached my older daughter about the possibility of a civil suit but she doesn't want that. Her Dad, my ex husband, considers his father's (the offender) property to be his "inheritance", so my daughter doesn't want to take that from him in a civil suit. (Even though they no longer speak, my ex is still the heir to his father's estate). She also says she doesn't think she has the stomach for it. She never wants to lay eyes on that man ever again and she doesn't want anything to do with him, including his money. So that's out of the question.

What's a mother to do?? When your kids were wronged by a man we all trusted and then wronged all over again by the system, what's left? They both feel that justice was not served and that they were let down in the worst way by the people who were supposed to get that justice for them.