RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply
Old 26-07-2017, 02:58 PM   #1
winter*

Has anyone ever done volunteer work abroad? Cool pics welcome :D

I would LOVE to go to India to help animals in need, and I want to go on my own, just to prove to myself I can do it. However I've always been shy and the thought is terrifying.
I was wondering if anyone had done anything similar? What did you do and was it worth it? Did you come home feeling more confident?

Be strong saith my heart; I am a soldier, I have seen worse sights than this.

winter* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2017, 10:12 AM   #2
Pi.R^2
Pathologically flamboyant

I am currently:

I volunteered with a mobile library in Zambia when I was 18 and then again when I was 19. It was a good experience but I do regret going at a time when I was quite unwell, as that hindered my enjoyment and the enjoyment of other volunteers =S I would love to do something like that again now that I'm well as I think I'd get an awful lot more out of it!

In terms of confidence, it wasn't the right thing to boost my confidence but I think that was because I chose the wrong type of activity. We were having to come up with creative and engaging activities for the children to do that related to a book we had chosen from the library and at that time I didn't feel confident doing that and so being in an unfamiliar place with unfamiliar people having to do that didn't do great things for my confidence! Because there was quite a lot of structure, it wasn't too awful social anxiety wise as we had certain things to discuss at certain times, but it was still probably a step too far for me at that time.