RYL Forums

Forum Jump

Old 22-10-2011, 12:31 AM   #1
VirtueOrSin

I am currently:
Wound Care Question - Stop dressing sticking to cuts?

I can't seem to find any way of dressing a wound without the bandages/gauze/whatever I use sticking to the cut. Even if I wait for the cut to stop bleeding (which I'm not very good at, I know it's really bad but I just have to keep looking, or it soaks though and I freak out) It still at some point re-opens and the blood dries to the bandage so when I move it rips open (In turn causing me to yelp rather like a puppy). At the moment I'm using gauze with lint cloth wrapped around it and a tubi grip on top to keep it in place, so nothing adhesive. I've tried spraying the gauze with anti-bacterial spray to keep it wet but I've heard conflicting advice on whether you should keep wounds wet. Also (I don't know if this will make a difference) the cuts are on my leg, so are constantly moving and are covered by my jeans that rub.

Sorry if this has been covered, I just couldn't find anything in the first aid advice page!

I've watched you change
Into a fly
I looked away
You were on fire
I watched a change
In you
It's like you never
Had wings

Old 22-10-2011, 04:34 PM   #2
Leo Pard
Flem Fatale

I am currently:

When you take the dressing off, I would recommend soaking it in saline (Teaspoon of sea salt in a mug of boiling water, obviously wait until the water is luke warm.) and then it should be easier to take off.

The world is just illusion always trying to change me.
You will find wonder wherever you can, and spread joy whenever you are able.

I felt emotions of gentleness and pleasure, that had long appeared dead, divide within me. - Frankenstein.

Old 23-10-2011, 09:48 AM   #3
brackish

At the pharmacies I've been to, they often sell nonstick pads that don't stick even to a fresh wound. They seem to work well. It might be the safest bet since every time you reopen a wound you increase your chance of infecting it.