RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-05-2017, 05:17 AM   #1
manic_felinemistress

I am currently:
I'm not good at anything, but I work hard (LONG)

I'm gonna vent about something that has been upsetting me for years, but is coming to a peak now. I never really got to talk about it before.

I am not naturally good at anything.

I'm not good at people.
I'm not good at math.
I'm not good at reading.
I'm not good at writing.
I'm not good at art.
I'm not good at music.
I'm not good a sports.

I had to be taken out of school after being held back two years in first grade because I couldn't read, and I started school a year older than all the other kids because of my birthday. My mom then home schooled me until I was 13, I was just starting to be able to read simple stuff, books like Brown Bear Brown Bear or Emilia Bedelia. I loved it when my mom would read Amelia Bedelia to me because I strongly related to her. I take everything extremely literally and got confused by simple conversations. They took my IQ at the time and they said it was 80.

They took my IQ because I was being placed back in public school now that I could read... kinda. And write... kinda. They said it was 80. I still couldn't sound out words, and I honestly still can't. I was struggling with long division, and I was 13. I was put in sixth grade public school and was placed in a class with students with severe autism and downs syndrome. I was still very naive, like a small child, I came home the first day of class and told my mom, "I like the kids in my class, but they're very different."
"Different in what way?"
"I don't know."