RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply
Old 12-02-2013, 10:19 PM   #1
mercycollegesucks

I am currently:
Am I being treated unfairly, or do I feel entitled to something I haven't earned?

Hello,

Thank you in advance for reading my post. I'm new to the site and looking for advice on a specific issue. First, I'd like to know if some unbiased people (namely you!) agree with me that I'm being treated unfairly by my school. And if I'm not being treated unfairly, I'd like to hear it and be told to just suck it up... I'll try to be brief, but this is a bit of a lengthy story.

I'm a teacher in NYC, and I have been since 2007. Back then I applied to and enrolled in the NYC Teaching Fellows right out of college. If you haven't heard of the Teaching Fellows, they're a teacher recruitment program in the city that's designed to fast track people into the career to help meet the demand for teachers in the city's worst neighborhoods, and the most needy subjects. Like math, and special education (which I teach). The program is very selective. For 2012 (the year they've got statistics for on their site) 11,804 people applied and only 916 entered training.

It's an intense training program where you're given a summer crash course before you start teaching immediately in the city's roughest areas. From the get go we were told how important the work we did was, how hard it would be to complete the program, and how much they wanted us to succeed. The program is two years long while you work to complete your masters, so I was supposed to graduate in June 2009. Everything was going fine for me – until November 2008.