Live Help

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply
Old 26-07-2017, 11:58 AM   #1
tinkertinker

It Really, Honestly Does Get Better

Hello!

I am an old member of an old support site that no longer works. I've been looking at RYL on and off for a while now and I've finally decided I'd like to share my story.

I started self harming at 17, after being r**** and struggling with my sexuality. It escalated pretty quickly and I was hospitalised a few times. The next four years were dark times. I truly detested myself and felt like I had to get out of my skin. I never thought I'd be happy. I completed a degree during this time, but had to take a year out because my mental health got too difficult to cover anymore. My self harm escalated and became more dangerous than ever. I broke bones on a number of occassions. I took drugs amd drank alcohol most days. I came close to dying, twice, after losing a lot of blood. Uni found out and asked me to leave as they were afraid I would hurt someone else or myself on campus or placement. I became lower than ever and attempted suicide a few times. I couldn't see a way out of anything. Eventually I came out to friends and family. Friends took it well, my parents didn't. They accepted it , but not happily.

I went back to uni for my final year and my mental health gradually improved. I still self harmed, but less frequently, and certainly less severely. I stopped my anti-depressant and began a different one which seemed to work for me. I moved in with a wonderful friend whom I'm still close to today. She helped me through a lot. I had toxic relationships but needed those as I explored my sexuality. I completed my degree and spent a year doing supply work. I worked evenings in a pub and found an amazing group of people who helped me further. We became a little family and finally I felt I was able to be ol' gay me!