RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply
Old 07-11-2019, 11:36 PM   #1
yorkshirelass

Recovery feels lonely

Hi All, newbie here!

I've decided I would like to recover from my eating issues and have taken a few positive steps towards that - I see a counselor once a week. I have also opened up to 2 friends.

My friends unfortunately didn't respond very well - while I believe they had the right intentions, I think they were trying to "fix me". They started setting targets such as "only purge 4x this week". I found the entire situation really stressful and so ended up opening up regarding this yesterday. It made me feel really out of control and led me to start SI after years of not doing this. Thankfully after speaking to them yesterday, I think they now understand that recovery has to be on my terms - they can't fix me.

But now... I feel like I don't really have anyone to speak to about this. I don't trust my friends anymore and they don't understand so I don't feel like I can be fully honest. I don't know anyone in real life whose gone through these issues, and while I actually really like my counselor - I can't afford to see her more then once a week.

So I thought I'd join the forum to see if I could get some online support. Recovery feels so lonely. I can't be the only one who thinks this right?

yorkshirelass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 07:13 PM   #2
one_step_closer
The Shadow of the Day

Hi, welcome to RYL. I don't have any personal experience of an ED but I wanted to reply to your post in case you don't get many replies since it can be quiet around here. It's really great that you're focusing on recovery, I think recovery from anything can feel lonely if you don't have people around who understand what you're going through. I'm guessing that having an ED in general can feel kind of lonely too. Do you know if there are any peer support groups in your area?

I hope it helps to post here.