RYL Forums

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-06-2010, 05:14 AM   #1
PaleMoon

I am currently:
Possibly Triggering - The Last Year (Fiction)

A brief summary: This is a fiction piece I'm just starting and I've decided to break my usual "rules" about writing and beginning the project while it's still developing in my head. I don't expect anyone to like this or even read it; it's only so that I can prove to myself I can write a story that isn't completely "done" in my head and it won't be too crappy. If you do like it, don't be afraid to let me know. I would love to hear it. It is in journal format through the eyes of a 23-year-old woman named Grace. Enjoy!

June 10th, 2007

My name is Grace Bianchi, RN-BSN. Oh, how I love to write those five letters after my name. The RN is for Registered Nurse. I am able to provide physical and emotional nursing care to the sick and injured. The BSN represents my level of training. I have a four-year Bachelor's degree in nursing, the highest before Master's. I received this training at the University of Massachusetts. I worked hard. I have just graduated with honors. I have plans to become a Nurse Researcher and all of my professors agree I would be good for such a position.

Why then, do I not have any job offers while I wait to get into my graduate program?

Well, I do have one. It's just not the job I wanted. Every one of my fellow classmates wants one thing after graduation: That coveted first year of experience on a Medical-Surgical hospital unit. I am no different. If you do well there, it establishes you as organized and a nurse who is well-versed in all of her technical knowledge. You can go just about anywhere from there.

Instead, however, I am to be a private-duty nurse for a person whose illness is even doubtfully real.