Live Help

Forum Jump
Post New Thread  Reply
Old 02-09-2019, 11:19 PM   #1
JJAnon

Studying Abroad and Incredibly unsure of whether or not I want to continue

First and foremost, I'm sorry if this comes across like an annoying first world problem, and if I seem at all ungrateful in regards to the opportunity that I have been presented with. I'd also like to preface this post by saying that I absolutely did not expect to go abroad and naively think that every waking moment would be fantastic.

Earlier this year, I decided to apply to my university's study abroad program. My intention in doing this was to take classes that-whilst relevant to my degree- I am not able to partake in back home, thus giving me a greater understanding of my prospective profession and the people I may eventually be working with (for the record, I am studying a degree inMusic Composition For Film). At least, that's what I told myself. I have now been in the United States for around a month and I am deeply unsure of whether or not I want to continue.

Of course, one of the problems that I'm facing is homesickness, which was to be expected. This feeling is very easily quelled by calling my parents and friends frequently and reminding myself that this is not permanent, but that's just one of the issues I'm facing.

The other big problem is making friends. Throughout my entire life, I have never had any trouble at all making friends, yet here I can't seem to establish a substantial connection with anybody, no matter if I keep my cool and talk to them the same way I would anyone else. It kind of feels like I'm throwing a bunch of blunt pencils at a dartboard and expecting them to stick. The subsequent loneliness is becoming a huge problem, and as of tomorrow I am starting to see a counsellor to see if I can combat this.