RYL Forums

RYL Forums (https://www.recoveryourlife.com/forum/index.php)
-   Mental Health Discussion and Support (https://www.recoveryourlife.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Does sertraline medication cause weight gain (https://www.recoveryourlife.com/forum/showthread.php?t=55150)

metoyou 09-07-2008 01:40 PM

Does sertraline medication cause weight gain

Hi. I'm very new to this website.
I've just been diagnosed with Night Eating Syndrome, after battling with Anorexia for 20 years.

I've been advised by my therapist to take Sertraline, but I'm scared alot that it may cause wieght gain. Please will someone share their experiences on this medication, as I'm so worried about taking it, but I feel it MAY get me out of this NES mess that I'm in.

Are the other side-effects of the medication quite bad too? I'm not very good with medication, due to poor digestive system, so I'm nervous about taking it.

Please will someone come forward to share their views and experiences, as I feel so alone at the moment.

Thanks.
Metoyou.:sad:

metoyou 09-07-2008 01:56 PM

Thanks alot crazy rabbit lady

I'm so plaesed that you replied to me so quickly.
I really am worried about this NES that I've developed. It's scaring the living pants out of me.

I would NEVER EVER touch any medication. But now that I'm so desperate to get out of this mess, i'll take anything.

Medication scares me coz of the side-effects. I am releived to know that at least it will not cause wieght gain.

Yes I will go on the ED section, and hopefully get some much needed support from there, about NES.

Take care, and I wish you all the best in your recovery too. Please keep posting, and let me know anything else that I may find helpful about Sertraline.
Thanks alot for replying to me. It feels like you've lifted a huge weight off my shoulder.

Always,
metoyou.

Psychedelic Doodle Pop 09-07-2008 02:33 PM